Getting Started Again

I feel like I have to rebuild myself all the time. One moment my house is fine and I blink and my house becomes a total disaster and I have absolutely no idea how I got there.

I’ve been researching and looking up “experts” on decluttering for probably a few years now. I started with FlyLady and I still really love her methodology but I just didn’t stick with it. I don’t ever stick with anything really. What I did love about FlyLady (found at FlyLady.net) was the idea of starting with your kitchen sink and keeping that clean. It’s something I’ve always been drawn to in regards of where to start the clean up process when my house is a disaster but it really made me happy to hear someone validate that starting point as the best possible place to get back your cleaning mojo.

This is our new kitchen sink, I think it was installed last spring, so maybe a little over a year ago now. Even before having this, having a clean, or shiny kitchen sink as FlyLady would put it, is very motivating. Having THIS particular kitchen sink clean is even more thrilling. I dreamt about this sink for a long time. A seamless sink. My soul breathes a sigh of relief every time I see it. No grout. No sink edges. Isn’t she beautiful?! It’s huge too. Makes cleaning large pots and pans so incredible easy.

About a month ago I found A Slob Comes Clean. I’ve seen that name floating around the blogosphere for awhile now but I discovered her Podcast finally and that is a medium that is perfect for her blog. Her words are so motivational to clean while you listen which is totally possible. I just turn it on, put my phone in my back pocket and get to cleaning. Sometimes I put in headphones if the kids aren’t around or are asleep. She doesn’t say she has ADHD but she must. She basically puts into words everything I have felt about house cleaning over the last 10 years. It is so amazing and motivational to hear about someone who has the same struggles I do and how they have found to manage it over time.

She does confess that this is not a struggle that will ever go away but it will get easier over time if you know where to start and what steps to take. It only took me 33 years to finally figure out how I need to manage my home in order to be a successful homemaker.

I’m seeing my struggle in a new light. I’m not really dreading the point where I fall on my face again because I know that is going to happen. I’m excited because the steps I’m taking in the mean time will allow me to rebuild myself a whole lot better and QUICKER than the time before. Marla from FlyLady and Dana from A Slob Comes Clean have really helped me to see that I’m not alone and I’m not a failure. I too, can do this.

Thank you Marla and Dana!

Leave a Reply

